Wilkinson Cup


Welcome to the “Wilkinson Cup” championship series! The 5 races in the series are designed to award the fastest male and fastest female skier in the state. The races in the Wilkinson Cup series coincide with many of our largest races,  multi-day nordic events, traditionally popular ski weekends and longstanding series races.

These races will be scored for the traditional NYSSRA points series (see points series rules).  However, in addition, it will be scored using more of a performance-based system (see description below).  Your scoring total will be dependent on your best 2  Wilkinson races combined with your performance at the NYSSRA Championship Race. The athlete at the top of the Wilkinson Series will win an engraving on the “Wilkinson Cup” trophy and the corresponding prize package and cash prize. A cash prize will be given to the top male and female points earner.

The Wilkinson Cup series is named after longtime organizer and leader in the NYSSRA community, Larry Wilkinson. For decades he helped maintain the NYSSRA race season, Empire State Games, and sanctioning agreements for our race organizers. NYSSRA Nordic thanks Larry and his family for their decation to nordic skiing at all levels in New York.

  • Race 1: January 7th – Gore Mountain JNQ – HURT Nordic/Queensbury Invitational
  • Race 2: January 28th – Shenendehowa Classic
  • Race 3: January 29th – Sacandaga Mini-Marathon
  • Race 4: February 22th – Gore Ski Bowl* HURT-athon Nordic
  • Race 5: March 4th – NYSSRA Nordic Champions Cup Distance Race @ Gore*
  • *(races were relocated, normally wilkinson races are more evenly distributed across the state)

Wilkinson Cup Series Scoring Rules:

Each skier who completes a Wilkinson Cup race will be scored based upon their performance (time = S) relative to the time of third place overall skier (Time = B).  The following formula will be used for Wilkinson Cup points = (B / S) *100

Skiers will have their best two race scores added together prior to the NYSSRA Championship Race.  To determine the overall Wilkinson Cup Champion, the score from the NYSSRA Championship Race will be added to that sum.