Mar 042019

Racing went smoothly on a well-groomed trail. Katrin Schreiners won the Jr women’s race while Fianna  Halloran secured the top spot in the Wilkinson cup and U16 season points series. Adam Jansen won the day and the series for U16 men. Erik Schreiner won the day handily over Matt Torniainen (who won the Wilkinson cup aside Halloran), and Eric Seyse secured another season points series title for host club Ghn – Adk Vauhti.

Our photos showcase some new hills on the glenville course. Note the points leaders wearing their yellow points leaders bib as trey suffer to keep them on their shoulders!

Maddi Ralyea won for the women’s division and took the top spot and a jacket too for top woman in this year’s points series for Hurt.

At the relays the conditions were superb. After a filling banquet and season awards racers took to the trail and raced a team sprint course that was fun and challenging. Racers skied fast and kept their dinners down. Hurt and GHN-ADK swapped places as the event wore on, and the points series champion hit the deck after an unforced error. Greg Stevens capitalized on the gap and handed Dave P K the lead on a silver platter. However the mini marathon champ Torniainen raced with determined focus and reeled him in to snatch gold. Maninno and Halloran won for mixed teams, and LaFontaine  and Bjelia took the women’s title.

I would be remiss not to thank maple ridge for hosting the sprint. This has been a great training facility all winter long especially for section 2 and 9 racers far from gore. The course was fast, fun, and perfectly groomed. Racers under 10 to over 70 were able to put in fast times and enjoy the course.

distance       Relay

Check out how you did this season here:

Results from each race contributed to the NYSSRA point series, and Club points series. Be a part of it next season when Rochester races will beef up the point totals for their regional racers, and HURT, PERU and Saratoga will race towards the top of the podium again.


[suffusion-the-author display='description']

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.